Terminally Single 001: Raj (The Big Bang Theory)

 

When I told my professor that I’m writing a blog post about Raj being terminally single, his response was:

“My wife and I always wondered why it had to be the brown guy???”

Fair question. But no clear answer. The Big Bang Theory features some of the most socially awkward characters I’ve ever seen on television. I could not think of a better person to begin my Terminally Single series with than Rajesh Koothrappali.

Raj is a gentle, compassionate, and sensitive person. Who wouldn’t want to date Rajesh Koothrappali? I would! Before you judge, let me give you some reasons why:

    • When Raj finally opens his mouth to speak… he’s actually very funny.
    • Raj also enjoys chick flicks (Eg. Sex in the City)
    • Raj is rich, enough said.
    • My future children will finally have good hair!

It must be difficult for Raj to find love in the middle of sunny California. His odds may have been stronger back in New Delhi, India.  I do sympathize for Raj, because I also know the complexities of branching into the world of interracial dating. Although interracial dating is not prominent in the show, it is still present when Raj’s parents become involved. Their demand for Raj to marry “a nice Indian girl” hinders him from finding ANY woman.


In grade six, I attended a small middle school in Toronto. The old and slightly crusty-looking school had a majority of Caucasian students and a significant minority of black students. That never bothered me though.

If you remember sixth grade like I do, then you know that grade six is the beginning of girlfriends and boyfriends. I watched my friends chase after boys. The girls would walk with the boys after school, sit with the boys at lunch, and ask the boys to all the school dances. Some got boyfriends and some didn’t.

When I attempted to participate in the act of ‘boy-chasing’, my friends made it very clear who I was supposed to pursue and who I was not. I could choose from the five black boys ranging between grades six and eight. Every other boy was not ‘my type’. So instead, I chose not to boy-chase.

The point I want to make is that branching into interracial dating is not an easy task. Even if Raj can overcome his phobia of speaking to women, he will need to assert his independence to break free from the meddling of his parents.

I often wonder what a cooler, hunkier version of Raj might look like. A Raj free from his parents. A Raj unconsumed by comics and Star Trek. A Raj with sexy bed-hair. This is what I came up with:

Dr. Mohinder Suresh from the television series Heroes.

Dr. Suresh has the perfect balance between nerdy and hunky. With someone like Dr. Suresh in the television world, there is NO reason why Raj isn’t getting any women. We just need to ruffle his hair a bit, throw out his sweater vests, and grow some fuzz on his face. Raj will become a South East seducing machine! …Or maybe not.

Let’s be honest, Raj will need more than just a new wardrobe and facial hair. He needs a major confidence boost. Once Raj has enough confidence, he will stop clinging to faulty, unsubstantial relationships with women. Loneliness and desperation has made Raj a classic settler.

He settles for any resemblance of a relationship.

He settles for mediocre love and affection.

He settles for less than he deserves.

I think Raj deserves so much more than a fling with deaf gold digger, a fake marriage with a closet lesbian and a controversial love interest with Siri the iPhone.

*My note to the directors and writers: Give Raj A Girlfriend! If you need some recommendations, then let me be the first to help. I see Raj with a young university student. Possibly black with short hair and a winning smile. Approximately 5″6 (give or take a few inches), with a love for writing and blogging. But that’s just a suggestion.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jaypeeel
    May 31, 2012 @ 18:34:05

    Couldn’t have picked a better choice than Raj haha. I love the Big Bang Theory. I really like how this post is a more personal and serious one than “Third Wheel Problems.” I think it’s great that you can relate to readers using humour, as well as the ability to be more serious. My only suggestion is that I would bold a part in your last paragraph since it seems really important to the point you’re trying to get across, but other than that I loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

